How to De-Stress

Hi my lovelies, it feels like forever since I last posted. I have been overwhelmed with lots of school work, exams and assignments! Cannot wait until holidays come around so I can post a lot more regularly. As you can obviously see by the title of this post, it is how to de-stress. Or in other words, try-not-to-have-breakdowns-every-day. 

However old you are, I am sure that you are a bit stressed with whatever is happening in your life currently, school or not. I have gathered some tips, some school related others not, to help you de-stress from your busy life. Exams just started and I personally, put a lot of pressure on myself to get better marks. This causes me to stress, and I am glad I am not the only one. 

  1. Take time to rest. This is important, if you’re looking at a computer screen for a good 2 hours, your eyes are bound to get sore. Sit outside and rest.
  2. Eat! You have heard this 1000 times, but I am not necessarily telling you to eat healthy. I cannot eat healthy 24/7 while I am studying for exams, I need comfort food like ice cream or chocolate to get me through. But I do know that I sometimes lose my appetite if I am stressed and cannot stop thinking about work. If you don’t eat you won’t do your best work. 
  3. Music. We have all heard that studying with music is bad. Although you do whatever you need to get that content in your head. I always study with music otherwise I cannot concentrate. When I am doing intense studying, I like to play instrumental music which puts me in a calming mood.
  4. Pamper yourself. This is so much fun. Choose 1 day a week, and have 1-2 hours where you just pamper yourself. Have a long shower, wash your hair, shave your legs, exfoliatemoisturise, face mask, hand rub, foot rub, whatever suits. It’s relaxing and just takes your mind off whatever is bothering you. 
  5. Breath.  There is only so much you can do, so much study you can do before your brain hurts. You can only try your hardest. If something is stressing you outside of school work, it will eventually blow over, give it time and distract yourself.
  6. Talk.  Talk with people about your stress and how you are feeling, chances are that they are in the same place. But don’t let them stress you out anymore.
  7. Surround yourself with positive people. During a stressful time, you do not want negative people bringing you down and complaining about their problems. Surround yourself with people who make you feel good about yourself and can easily joke around.
  8. Study Timetable? I was originally a bit hesitant about this. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to stick to it. But I just created a timetable on what I would do after school everyday (subjects) instead of hour by hour. I recommend even if it’s just that simple. 
  9. Sleep. Set a time that you will go to bed every night. So you get into a routine and you aren’t staying up to 2 am studying every night.
  10. It’s okay.  Right now it may not seem like it, but it is okay. You think you failed that exam? Don’t be so hard on yourself, have confidence in yourself. You will have other chances, it was one test, one term, one subject. You will forget about it in the next week.

There it is, 10 tips to not-stressing-out-too-much, obviously you will stress and that is just a natural thing to do. But by using these tips, you won’t be feeling so overwhelmed. I probably need to take some of those tips into my life, oops. I wish you all the best for the rest of the month and good luck! Not long now until holidays!

Much Love, Jess  xx

 

Source for feature image: http://www.myquotesclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Stressed-spelled-bacward-is-desserts.jpg

Leave a Reply

