Met Gala 2016

 

Hey lovelies,

I’m sorry that I have been MIA lately. I have been very busy with school and my social life oops. But I am back with an action packed post. Today was the Met Gala, one of the biggest fashion events every year. For those who don’t know, the Met Gala is an annual event, supporting and fundraising for the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute. Each year the Gala has a theme based around the exhibition at the  Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute. This years being Manus x Machina: Fashion In An Age of Technology. So as I did last year, and again this year, I will showcase my personal best and worst from today’s event. Enjoy!! 

taylor-swift1

Worst: Sorry Tay, but this dress really is not my style! I really do get the angle of where she was coming from with the technological style dress. But those black straps really ruin the look. The shoes I must say are lovely. Although, as I was scrolling through my instagram feed and came over a text post that said she looked like Jenny Humphrey from Gossip Girl.  Taylor is wearing: Louis Vuitton. 

selena-gomez

Worst: Selena and Taylor did go together, and both of their dresses were by Louis Vuitton so maybe they matched their looks..? But come on Selena, you can do better than this!! The dress would have been so much nicer if it didn’t include those silly black straps again!! 

elle-fanning

Best:  Elle Fanning is killing it in this gown! I absolutely adore the colour and how it just falls to the ground. Ah incredible. Although I must say, that sorry Elle, but I don’t think this classifies as ‘Fashion in the Age of Technology’. Wearing a Thakoon Dress. 

lily-rose-depp.jpeg

Best: Lily Rose Depp, you never fail to impress. She looks so incredible and I love the style of the top of her dress. A lovely halter neck top, with ribbed like panels all within the colours of a faint mustard and white. Dress by Chanel.

kendall-jenner.jpeg

Best: Oh Kendall, I cannot say that I am truly in love with this dress, but I sure don’t hate it. I love all the colours and pattern of the dress itself, it captures the theme perfectly. The only thing that I dislike about it, is that I find that the cut out’s are quite large, which makes the bust area look quite unusual. Dress by, Alterlier Versace.

lady-gaga1

Worst: Lady Gaga, you have the potiental to do so much more!! I thought you were past those 2010, meat dress days. I have to admit, this is very technologically themed, although compared to the other dresses, this is pretty bad. Wearing, Atelier Versace

nicole-kidman-met-gala-2016

Best:  This may be one of my favourite gowns from the whole night. This dress is incredible and so detailed. I’m in love with the style of the top, and it shows the perfect amount of skin. The pattern on the dress is just simply beautiful. Dress by Alexander McQueen.

emma-watson.jpeg

Worst: This hurts me to say this, but personally this dress was ugly. I actually wouldn’t even call it a dress. It would have been so much more elegant and lovely, if the thing around her hips didn’t look like the end of a cape for her legs. I love Emma, but she could have done so much better personally. Wearing, Calvin Klein.

sienna-miller

Best:  Sienna Miller looking like a princess in this gorgeous gown by Gucci. The colour and detail put into this gown is incredible and shapes her perfectly.  Overall she looks amazing.

527359412

Best:  Claire Danes, the real life cinderella wins the event with her light up dress by Zac Posen. In day light it looks like an elegant baby blue dress, but when in dark, is lights up, shimmering. She was personally one of my favourites from the night.

527359446

Best:  Another one of my favourites, Nina Dobrev. I may be biased but she looks absolutley stunning in this dress by Marchesa.

527358262

Best:  Last but not least, Kate Hudson, wearing this gorgeous feather like detailed dress. This also is quite classy while it also falls under the theme well without going too overboard.

I hope you enjoyed my analysis of the 2016 Met Gala. It wasn’t as exciting as last year’s ridiculous outfits. I am sure you are all sick of seeing it now all over snapchat and instagram, but hopefully my post puts it all into perspective and gave you a bit of a laugh. Give it a like and comment which one is your favourite! All images were from getty images and don’t forget to follow @missinfluential on instagram to keep up with my life!

Lots of love, Jess xx

 

 

2 thoughts on “Met Gala 2016

Leave a Reply

