Tips to being happy

Hello loves,

It has been a long while since I last posted. I have one more term left of grade 12 then I am finished and ready to explore the world, which will bring me so many more opportunities. I have been very busy with school work and soaking up the last weeks I have with people who I cherish most. 

As you can gather from the title of this post, I regard myself as a pretty happy person most of the time and have made changes to my life to get here. The tips below are just from my personal experiences and touch on how to look after yourself, mentally and physically, being aware of how you treat others and how they treat you, and the overall frame your mind is in, enjoy!

1. Me time

Be aware of your schedule and don’t forget to put in time for yourself every week or fortnight. This doesn’t have to cost anything, sit down and read a book or just relax outside without any distractions. This allows the mind and soul to be refreshed and rejuvenated for the upcoming events. 

2. Surround yourself with people who are not negative.

I know I have said this in earlier posts, but people’s attitudes towards specific things are a huge influence on your mood. Coming to the end of my 12 years of school this is a large factor in my happiness. Majority of the time negative energy is just not needed and drains the mood and atmosphere. I guarantee you that if you are around people who make you happy, laugh and enjoy their overall company than your mood will improve significantly.

3. Make a playlist.

A study suggested that those who listen to upbeat music could improve their mood and boost their happiness in just two weeks. Make a playlist with your favourite happy songs that make you smile and jump around.

4. Channel your passions.

It is important to find something you are passionate in,  it can be anything really, just as long as you spend time doing it or looking into it. This will take time away from all the thoughts that are going on up in your head and focus on something you deeply enjoy. 

5.  Compliment someone

This works both ways, by making else feel good about themselves, they value your kindness to them and are grateful for your existence, and therefore makes you both feel good inside.

6. Worry less

Unfortunately this is easier said then done, although once you stop worrying about things that don’t need to be worried about it feels like a weight has been lifted off your chest. This process of eliminating your worries occurs overtime but eventually you’ll feel comfortable with your priorities.

Even though this posts highlights the importance of being happy, please note that it is okay to not be happy at times. It is okay to cry and be sad about little things as we are all human. Without these sad times we would not be aware of how great our life can be.

Apologies for the lack of fashion and beauty posts lately, but it is so important that I focus on these subjects in my blog and let other become more aware. 

Much love, Jess xx

 

Leave a Reply

