Tuesday 27th December, 2016

Hi lovelies,

Today is the 27th December 2016. 4 days until 2017.

It has been a big year, well for me personally.

“I feel like this year is really about, like the year of realizing stuff. And everyone around me we’re all just like realizing things.”

Just kidding, but to be serious now, 2017 has made people become aware of their surroundings by making decisions in the best interest of themselves. 

I’ve talked to a lot of people who all said this has the worst year. But I can confidently say that this has been the best year to date.

Today I am feeling extra inspirational to write an end of year post, that hopefully just encompasses all my thoughts and feelings in the simplest way possible. But I am not simple and neither is my mind so I can’t make any promises.

I hope that this post will be uplifting and may relate to you, so you can start 2017 with a clear open mind, knowing exactly what you want to get out of next year.

Also if you know my writing style I tend to go off on a rant, so bear in mind this will be a long post.

Lastly, I’m no expert, this is just from my personal experiences and I love sharing it with you guys and hopefully making your day a bit better.

Let us begin.

1. SELF LOVE 

First topic is one that I always promote everywhere, if it’s on here, or just to my friends. Self love. I cannot stress how important this is.

Self love is loving every single piece of yourself inside and out.

We have all been there, those bad days where you just want to crawl up and not look at yourself.  Maybe you’re embarrassed by how you look, or an action you made. But don’t forget, you’re only human.

No one is perfect, as cliche as that sounds, it is important to forgive yourself, take a deep breath and look back at the reflection smiling. 

“Don’t wait around for someone to bring you flowers, plant your own garden and decorate your soul.” – Luther Burbank

Above is one of my all time favourite quotes, it just speaks to me. I’m not going to wait around for love or happiness or respect. (Although I can guarantee that you have friends and family that love you dearly. In saying this we can be blind to love.) If you want love, love yourself, take care of yourself physically and mentally. Respect yourself and don’t beat yourself up. 

img_2041

2. HAPPINESS

Never feel bad for something that makes you happy.

You need to put yourself first. For the sake of your mental health and overall happiness. You may be called selfish, you may be made to feel bad. Do not listen under any circumstances, if you are in a negative place. I’m talking any scale of negativity, if you feel even the bit of doubt in a situation. Make decisions that put your happiness, safety and mental health first. 

If you are being negative, or the situation you are in has negative energy, tap out of that, because that will only attract more negativity. Therefore, if you’re happy in a happy place then happiness is then reflected off you and you attract good energy.

img_2193

3. DON’T BEAT YOURSELF UP

Please don’t blame everything on yourself. At times it may seem like it’s all your fault. It’s not, don’t stress, everything can be fixed. Everything, but it will take time, patience and the ability to forgive yourself. You make mistakes, those mistakes won’t matter in a year. It’s all good in the hood as I like to say. It is just not worth the energy and stress. 

IMG_3105.JPG

4. EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON

If things don’t go the way you expected them to, it’s okay. It’s okay to be sad about it as well. But don’t dwell on why it went wrong, move forward and surround yourself with people who support and love you. 

img_2420

5. DON’T FEEL LIMITED

Especially when leaving school, keep an open mind when meeting new people. It is both interesting and scary to scope out a new person and their life but also enjoyable at the same time.

img_6633

I gathered a few more perspectives from those who have learnt things throughout the year:

“I learnt to never let your happiness depend wholly on other people. You have to love yourself first before you invest in others because, if not, you will have no one, not even yourself, if things go bad.” – Sophie Winks

“I learnt that there is nothing wrong with removing toxic people from your life and putting your needs above others, because at the end of the day those people who you’ve bent over backwards for and who haven’t given you a single thing in return will probably leave you before they realise you’re the best thing that happened to them, so don’t be afraid to put yourself before others and surround yourself with people who will support and care for you no matter what.” – Lauren Donoghue

“The more Christmas ham, the merrier.” – Cara Wing

“I learnt that not everyone who you think are your closest friends have your best interests in mind and that getting rid of those types of people can make your life 9474483992472987372236 times better :))” –  Xandra Ribinsky 

” I’ve learnt that most of life’s problems can be solved with wine, there’s no time for fake/half assed friends – if they’re only there when they can benefit from the friendship say bye Felicia, it’s totally okay to cut off family who have a negative impact on your mental health and money really does buy happiness .” – Chloe Stanbraah

” I’ve learnt that my own attitude can rub off on other people. I’ve also learnt that even if you love someone you should always put up boundaries. If you have unconditional love for someone you still can’t let them walk all over you. I also learnt that it’s always great to have a balance between a social life and alone time. Sometimes its great just to draw or read a book.” – Isabella Scott Enders 

I learnt that just because you feel ugly, fat, or like you will never ever find love, there is always someone out there that truly loves you for who you are, a lot of people say that they will love every single thing about you, but realistically, some flaws are more noticeable than others and they may notice, but there love for you and all the things they love about you, makes your flaws practically invisible ” – Laura Rattray

I hope this post was uplifting and motivated you to get into 2017 with an open mind and a heart full of kindness. I wish you all the best for next year, and have some content lined up that you guys will love.

Lots of love,

Jess xx

 

Leave a Reply

