SISSURA // Girls.

Meet the lovely Sissura, she has such a lovely and interesting personality and creates some very beautiful art. I won’t give too much away…keep reading to find out more!

18051986_1342379855850373_782618771_n

  1. What is your name and how old are you?

Sissura Symonds-Manne, 16

  1. Where does your name originate from/what does it mean?

It’s actually based off a book series, written by Robin Hobb – the Live Ships. My parents both really enjoyed them and in it there’s a young dragon called Sessurea  Can confirm it’s a beautiful series, just such an interesting premise (but I may have just spoiled it a little bit eek).

  1. What is your passion?

Art!

  1. How did the passion begin? Do you remember a moment where you knew you loved this passion?

I’ve always drawn, I just liked it and people would tell me I was good at it so I just kept on. My parents have always been supportive and I don’t know that there’s ‘one’ moment but I drew this in preschool, mum told me later how impressed she was by the detail even though I was really young, don’t know that there’s anything spectacular about it but it’s uplifting she thought that haha! I started attending an art class with Cheryl (who is exceptional) when I was 11 and when my drawings finally started getting easier and better, I think I could truly enjoy art. Which is SO worth it. It was actually a struggle for a really long time, it’s really hard to draw and it really stomps any of the enjoyment when you genuinely think you’re horrible at it (But all improvement takes is a serious effort.. And a good teacher) I like the feeling of finishing a drawing and actually being able to step back and be proud of it. Honestly, I’m not ever fully content with my work but I think I love that most about art – I want to keep growing and getting better, there is still so much to learn and improve on!

18034816_1342372125851146_1794176043_n

  1. Describe your favourite outfit:

Something interesting and unique, probably vintage. A good pair of jeans, also love a good belt!

  1. Who is your role model?

So hard to pick one! Maybe Andrew Salgado, @brainfoetus and the two artists behind @yofukuro (on insta). All have such unique work and I really respect the distinct style they’ve each formed – that’s my goal.

  1. What was the last movie you watched?

Not a movie, but I’ve been watching a lot of Black Sails. Soooo good.

  1. Biggest fear?

Living an unhappy life.. Or one that feels unfulfilled (but also heights lol).

  1. What motivates you?

My progress so far (attached photo of the two drawings is 2011 vs 2016, dodgy crop sorry !), other artists and just random things I see and want to draw.

18072704_1342372035851155_243005471_n

  1. What the best advice you’ve been given?

Take criticism and grow from it…Don’t take it personal.

  1. Do you have any favourite artists or bands?

Radiohead ! Alt-j, Glass Animals – just so fun and different. Also have enjoyed all of Alex Turner’s projects so far.

  1. If you could only keep 5 things what would they be and why?

My family and my two dogs, can’t think of any material items

  1. How would you describe your fashion style?

Dunno yet! Emerging

  1. Number 1 beauty tip?

Work with what you’ve got and what suits your features…What suits other people might not suit you! I can’t wear winged eyeliner for shit

  1. Would you ever go back in time?

I wish !!

  1. Describe your perfect day.

A really productive one or just a nice day out sailing with my family again.

  1. What is your hot drink order?

Chai latte/ cappuccino.

More of her art is featured below.

18090706_1342372095851149_1381966943_o18052725_1342372049184487_176645137_n18042819_1342372139184478_1129599179_o

Sissura is so incredibly talented and I definitely took some things away from her advice.

Much love, Jess xx

 

Leave a Reply

