GRACE // Girls.

Back with another GIRLS post featuring a babe who has a lot to say about life. Check out her answers below.

  1. What is your name and how old are you?

Grace Cooney, and I’m 17 years old.

  1. Can you give some insight into your company, Made by Grace?

For around 3 years, I have been hand making my own jewellery and clothing and selling it at markets, over Instagram and Facebook, and through an online store I created and manage myself. It took months of experimentation before I finally understood what I was doing, as I am completely self-taught. The years I was really active with Made by Grace were some of the best ever as I got to meet so many new people, learn new things, and connect with so many talented creative girls. However, I now see Made by Grace as a bit of a trial run for what lays ahead… for more go to www.graceandgalaxy.com

19457888_1989492561281245_1180137887_o

  1. What made you want to start the business?

Looking back now, I actually realised I’ve always tried to start businesses. When I was in Grade 5 I sold customised stationery to a few people in my class for like 50 cents, and for a period of time when I was 11 or 12 I drew and coloured in these weird posters with lyrics on them and sold them for $1. I remember it giving me this really unique and weird sense of happiness, I just wanted to make more and more. I forgot all about it until one day when I was 14, when I went out and bought some craft supplies as I wanted to try and make a pair of earrings that I saw in a boutique. It was then that feeling came back to me and I remembered what I really loved to do – it didn’t take long for me to set up an Instagram account, and it just escalated from there.

  1. What is the first thing you do when you wake up?

Send a super exciting picture of a blank wall for my snapstreaks.

  1. Best piece of advice you have been given?

I could go on for ages about this one.

  • Being generous is SO important
  • Shout your friends food sometimes, they deserve it
  • Laugh really hard with a friend when things turn to complete shit
  • Don’t let doubt kill dreams
  • Always try to film funny moments
  • Do NOT try and change yourself for the sake of others not liking you
  • Quality over quantity when it comes to friends
  • ABBA makes everything better
  1. Do you have any pets? If so what are their names?

I have a spoodle, and his name is Buddy. He turns 10 this November and I’m gonna throw him the wildest birthday party ever.

  1. Have you had any recent complications? How do you deal with them?

Motivation for grade 12 in relation to my future business plans. I have this problem where I become super inspired and excited for the future – and I mean like butterflies in the stomach, happy tears kind of excited – and then realise I still have to try my hardest at school and complete a billion pieces of assessment and that inspiration just kind of dies. It’s the most depressing thing ever. I have to be super careful I don’t let school, QCS and OP marks interfere with my goals, because I know that they will not define my future. It gets worse the closer I am to graduating – I am so keen to get out and do something big.

  1. Coffee or Hot Chocolate?

Hot chocolate FOREVA

  1. How would you describe your fashion style?

Questionable. I buy anything that sparkles, I own around 15 pairs of statement earrings, and I love big obnoxious sunglasses. If I had to pick a decade that inspires me the most, it would for SURE be the 70’s. Other than that I love anything bright, fluffy, off the shoulder, high-waisted, floral, midi-length, or flared/bell-sleeved. I’m also a low-key sucker for old-style gowns and dresses, like the super flowy elegant stuff with the “that looks like my Grandma’s curtains” print that no one is really into anymore.

19490014_1989493111281190_1021133945_o

  1. Do you have a favourite outfit in your wardrobe? One that you feel most comfortable in?

I own this navy ¾ length top and maxi skirt set from Verge Girl that Mum bought for me way back in 2014 – My friends and I have dubbed it the “Nun set” due to its resemblance of a nunnery outfit and extreme skin coverage, but it’s still my absolute favourite thing in my wardrobe. I feel classy AF whenever I wear it.

  1. What is your best tip for stress?

Everything always works out, no matter how crappy it seems at the time. When I’m stressed, I always like to think of how the thing I am working on is not going to matter AT ALL in a year or so.

  1. Do you have any advice for your younger self?

Quit being a little bitch. (Yes, I was that girl.)

  1. Where is your favourite place to eat?

I love a lot of places, but if I had a top three, it would be Zambrero (Mexican), Grill’d and Coco Bliss.

  1. #1 beauty tip?

THE BODY SHOP TEA TREE RANGE. That is all.

  1. Boy advice?

Never date dancers. If your friends hate him, run. If he does anything that affects your happiness, run faster. Always listen to your friends when they give you advice about boys – 99% of the time they will be right.

  1. How are you dealing with the pressures of grade 12?

Again with the friends, they are making it a whole lot easier (Shoutout to Em, Indea Shannon and Amy – I love you with all ma heart) I am also lucky enough to have a good support system in my life as well, so things aren’t too bad. One thing I am definitely terrified about is finding out my OP score as I have no idea what to expect, and knowing me I will definitely beat myself up about it if it’s not what I want, no matter how much I don’t want to.

  1. Lucky Number?

Not really a superstitious kinda gal, but if I had to pick, it would be 120 (my competitor number for when I did Irish dancing way back when).

19457577_1989492567947911_1610234272_o.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this edition of girls. There will be more coming soon.

Much love, Jess xx

Leave a Reply

